Honorary members

The Executive Committee of ESCD recognises the following members for their contributions to society by designating them ESCD Honorary Members. They have contributed significantly to the development of the field of contact dermatitis and its practice.

An Goossens
Dr, Prof Dermatology, UZ KULeuven

Anton de Groot
Anton C. de Groot, MD PhD (1951) already had a special interest in contact dermatitis before starting his private practice in ‘s-Hertogenbosch, The Netherlands, in 1980. He wrote his PhD Thesis on Adverse Reactions to Cosmetics in 1988. Two years later in 1990, Anton was one of the founders of the Nederlands Tijdschrift voor Dermatologie en Venereologie (Dutch Journal for Dermatology and Venereology) and served as editor-in-chief of this journal for 10 years. He also was chairman of the Dutch Contact Dermatitis Group for 15 years. De Groot has over 400 publications to his name, including 20 book titles (13 in Dutch, 7 international) and 70 book chapters. Of these publications, his books Patch Testing (first edition 1986, 5th edition 2022, www.patchtesting.info), Essential oils: Contact Allergy and Chemical Composition and the 4 volumes of Monographs in Contact Allergy are well known to dermatologists interested in contact dermatitis. Dr. de Groot has donated the contents of the 5th edition of Patch Testing to the European Society of Contact Dermatitis, which can be accessed online by its members. In addition to his ESCD honorary membership, Anton is also an honorary member of the American Contact Dermatitis Society.

Richard J. G. Rycroft
St. John’s Institute of Dermatology, St. Thomas’ Hospital

Torkil Menné
Department of Dermatology, Gentofte Hospital

Lasse Kanerva

Peter Frosch
Retired, Director of departm. Dortmund

David Basketter
Past President of the ESCD

Klaus E Andersen
Professor of Dermatology, University of Southern Denmark from 1989–2015